31st September Competition

Click here to see award winners

The 31st September Competition is an annual juried exhibition highlighting the work of contemporary artists in all media and styles created within the past two years.  50 artworks selected from over 500 international submissions are included in the exhibition and featured in a full-color print catalog.  This year, the 47 selected artists represent 3 countries, 18 states, and 35 cities.
Juror-designated awards are presented to artists selected from the exhibited works.
Selected artists:

Marie-Ange Ackad                                                     Andy Astencio

Alexis Avlamis                                                           Brandin Barón

Emmett Barnacle                                                       Anne Bascove

David Blow                                                                Dana Brown

McCormick Brubaker                                                 Campbell Critz

Jeff Chyatte                                                                 Nicolas Coleman

Harriett Cortez                                                           Robert Creighton

Karen deClouet                                                          Christian Duran

Beth Edwards                                                             Michael Elliott-Smith

Lisa Flowers Ross                                                      Ernie Fournet

Donna Futrell                                                              Laura Gates

Jeffrey Gelick                                                               Lucretia Glorioso

Gwen Gunter                                                               Dorothy Hanna

Anne Harkness                                                            Dee Hood

Kathryn Jill Johnson                                                    Guntis Lauzums

Craig LeBlanc                                                             Jenna Lynch

Roberta Masciarelli                                                     Donna Meeks

Sarah Merola                                                               Paul Murray

Mihee Nahm                                                                Jeffrey Neumann

Clark Nunn                                                                  Elizabeth Panzer

Thomas Pickarski                                                         Katrina Ruhmland

Art Vandenberg                                                             Margaret White

Michael Yankowski                                                      Rick Yasko


The Alexandria Museum of Art is happy to welcome William U. Eiland, director of the Georgia Museum of Art, as the juror for the 31st September Competition.

A native of Sprott, Ala., William Underwood Eiland is the director of the Georgia Museum of Art at the University of Georgia. He has a bachelor’s degree from Birmingham-Southern College and master’s and doctoral degrees from the University of Virginia. Eiland has edited and contributed to more than 60 publications. He has served on the boards of the American Alliance of Museums, the Southeastern Museums Conference and the Georgia Association of Museums and Galleries; was a trustee of the Association of Art Museum Directors; and was chairman of the Arts and Artifacts Indemnity Advisory Panel for the National Endowment for the Arts. Since 2013 he has been a trustee of the International Council of Museums. Among his many honors, Eiland, in 2013, received the American Alliance of Museums Distinguished Service Award in recognition of his contributions to the field on a national level. Most recently, in October 2017, he received a Governor’s Award for the Arts & Humanities for his service to Georgia.